Loading...
NETGEAR RangeMax™ NEXT Wireless Router WNR834B User Manual
Safeguarding Your Network 2-15
v2.1, July 2007
configuration file after you complete the configuration. In the event of router failure or corruption,
or a lost administrator password, you can easily recreate your configuration by restoring the
configuration file.
For instructions on saving and restoring your configuration file, see “Managing the Configuration
File” on page 6-6.
Understanding Your Firewall
Your RangeMax NEXT Wireless Router WNR834B contains a true firewall to protect your
network from attacks and intrusions. A firewall is a device that protects one network from another,
while allowing communication between the two. Using a process called stateful packet inspection,
the firewall analyzes all inbound and outbound traffic to determine whether or not it will be
allowed to pass through.
By default, the firewall allows any outbound traffic and prohibits any inbound traffic except for
responses to your outbound traffic. However, you can modify the firewall’s rules to achieve the
following behavior:
Blocking sites. Block access from your network to certain Web locations based on Web
addresses and Web address keywords. This feature is described in “Blocking Access to
Internet Sites” on page 3-1.
Blocking services. Block the use of certain Internet services by specific computers on your
network. This feature is described in “Blocking Access to Internet Services” on page 3-3.
Scheduled blocking. Block sites and services according to a daily schedule. This feature is
described in “Scheduling Blocking” on page 3-5.
Allow inbound access to your server. To allow inbound access to resources on your local
network (for example, a Web server or remote desktop program), you can open the needed
services by configuring port forwarding as described in “Allowing Inbound Connections To
Your Network” on page 5-1.
Tip: Before saving your configuration file, change the administrator password to the
default, password. Then change it again after you have saved the configuration file.
If you save the file with a new password, and you later forget the new password, you
will have to reset the router back to the factory defaults and log in using the default
password of password. This means you will have to re-enter all the router
configuration settings.
Loading...
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | DMCA Policy
2006-2020 Rsmanuals.com